Cozy Group 2- Reflections on Virtual Teams

My experiences thus far in virtual teams has been very positive.  Everyone in our team (Kathi, Christine, and Tish) has worked together at one point or another in the OTL program and we’ve participated in group activities before.  Fortunately, all of us work very well together and I think we all know our roles and responsibilities.  I read over Dr. Datta’s discussion on virtual teams, very interesting read and I do think group activities certainly have a place in the online environment, and I think with the right design it can be a very fulfilling educational activity.  Now, for the BLOG part, still trying to navigate around the admin side of WORDPRESS, but slowly getting it!   Click on “Comments” below to read the thoughts from our team!

Image

About leadingcops

Greetings! I am a 20 year law enforcement veteran, with most of my time spent training peace officers. I started in patrol and have worked a range of assignments, including Internal Affairs and Risk Management before I took over as commander of our regional academy program. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist with during this class!
This entry was posted in Weekly Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cozy Group 2- Reflections on Virtual Teams

  1. Christine says:

    This week really centered around trying to get the hang of being a mom to two AND a contributing group member simultaneously – these are the first courses (6706 also) I have taken since my son arrived! I was thankful that Jim initiated the group formation and invited me into the group with Tish and Kathi. I was immediately comfortably working with colleagues that I have worked with before. I am also thankful that Jim took the initiative to start our blog, and now that I have admin privileges (if I can figure out how to access them), I will spend some more time navigating around. I still have no idea what I need to do with the class wiki. I think there is something to the “mommy brain” myth. Hopefully I have fulfilled this week’s requirements… I’m feeling a little out of sorts.

    • leadingcops says:

      Hey Chrissy,

      Glad to see you back in class, and glad to have you as part of the team! My 3 little ones are always pulling at me, I find myself sitting at the computer at 5 AM so that I stay out of the dog house!

      • Kathi says:

        You guys are so funny…you bring back such vivid memories. My “baby” is 22 and I remember trying to have a life during those early years…what a joke!! I’m impressed with how you, both, achieve such high goals and be great parents, too. Hat’s off to ya!!

  2. kmyers7 says:

    My reflections of week 2 of this class are filled with many emotions. Some days I had overwhelming feelings of getting behind with deadlines. Other days I felt very organized and “point on”. Our group came together very easily and participation was equal among all of us. We each volunteered for activities and reading summaries. The most frustrating part of the week is what I’ve experienced today…waiting for admin. acceptance or owner/moderator permission to post on our group blog and our class wiki (PBWorks). We still have decisions to make, as a group, and we will in plenty of time prior to the weekly deadline. My favorite part of this week has been working closely with awesome fellow classmates in this group!!!! Yea US…Cozy Group 2!!!

  3. kmyers7 says:

    Here is my 2nd posting…my first one didn’t show. So I’ll test to see if I can see this one. Here’s to ya!!

  4. tish21 says:

    Hello from Mississippi, I found us. . . . thanks to Kathi. I will try to read the instructions about adding the image.

Leave a Reply

