Jim’s Week 5 Reflections and Reading

And I thought week 4 was tough!  Week 5 has taken the cake for me.  This week I returned from our yearly trip to Wyoming so I am back in “regular internet” access, though for some reason I feel like I’m still behind.  Perhaps it’s the thought of making sure my midterm in 6707 goes over well, but I also have some work to do in 6780, and time seems to be running short!

I’ve learned a tremendous amount in these two classes, collectively.  Whether or not it was designed that way, I think both really compliment each other in some of the work we are doing.  I posted my draft midterm and hope to finalize it shortly, and I will be working on some things for 6780 over the weekend.

As for reading, I really enjoyed the Pfeiffer site and am looking at buying the book, “Beyond the Podium”.  Just based on what I read, I really think the book has some good points and ideas on training delivery and design.  After going through the last few classes, I’m convinced that design is perhaps the biggest, and most important, part of training.  Those who have the imagination can create great training, and it looks like this one can give us some great ideas!

Jim

About leadingcops

Greetings! I am a 20 year law enforcement veteran, with most of my time spent training peace officers. I started in patrol and have worked a range of assignments, including Internal Affairs and Risk Management before I took over as commander of our regional academy program. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist with during this class!
This entry was posted in Weekly Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

