Week 6 Reflections

I have to second Tish’s comments, so glad we have a great team, you guys have been the absolute best.  We communicate well, and to be quite honest if I don’t hear from one of you throughout the day, I think I’m missing something!!

Week 6 has been interesting on two fronts.  Not only are we starting to prepare for the final, but I had a chance to read over “Elements of Quality Online Education” and through all the material, one statement really stuck with me during a discussion on learning communities..”good learning will take place only when the focus is on the content and the process of learning, not on the superficial aspects of the layout or interface”.  I took this as, don’t concern yourself so much with “zippy wow” and focus on the learning.  I know that’s true, because of all the programs we’ve downloaded for trial (even the best online development programs!), they all start with a blank screen.  It’s up to us to come up with the imagination on how to design the course.  I find myself always thinking about student interaction, at all cost throughout each portion of the course.  I learn more each day, and look forward to our final project!

Jim

About leadingcops

Greetings! I am a 20 year law enforcement veteran, with most of my time spent training peace officers. I started in patrol and have worked a range of assignments, including Internal Affairs and Risk Management before I took over as commander of our regional academy program. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist with during this class!
This entry was posted in Weekly Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 6 Reflections

  1. Datta Kaur says:

    Jim, interesting note about the ‘blank screen.’ This isn’t exactly what we begin with however, since we are ‘moved into’ the chosen learning management system. Let’s just hope that the LMS does not make us creative prisoners of their vision – instead I hope lots of freedom and convenience remains. (Still waiting for that one:). ~ Datta Kaur

  2. Datta Kaur says:

    Kathi, thank you for continuing to share your reflections. From the email and discussion updates I am receiving from your team, I can see that this is quite a group – certainly on track to a successful project completion. Thank you. ~ Datta Kaur

  3. tish21 says:

    Jim,
    What an excellent way to express our courses, and the reason for being in this program. . I am taking these courses as a student, an instructor and as an administrator. I want to be sure Holmes is delivering exemplary online courses where the student is able to focus on the course material and not the platform. My philosophy is that effective online courses are defined by teaching, not technology.
    Thanks for your words,
    Tish

    • Datta Kaur says:

      Tish, I hope that your courses are also defined by online learning communities, not just teaching and general technology. My role has always been to be an advocate for global connections that expand possibility, understanding and….well, learning! ~ Datta Kaur

  4. Kathi says:

    I’m with you, Jim. Many times I feel like the “blank screen” you described. But keeping the focus/topic in mind that needs to be communicated, the tool used for the “wow” is a secondary result, if appropriate, to the content, for sure.
    Thanks for being such a great communicator and leader of our team!!

    Kathi

Leave a Reply

