Jim’s Week 8 Reading

Well, first things first, thank goodness the final is (for the most part I hope) behind us!!!  It was an interesting project and I learned quite a bit from it.  This weeks readings were pretty interesting to me on the subject of assessments.  Admittedly when I think about assessments I think about testing.  When I looked at the image posted by Dr. Datta (the Learning about Student Learning) from Portland State, I thought about all the other ways we assess, particularly in the online world.  We can assess through reading discussion posts, posing follow up questions, introducing new concepts for feedback, and using traditional project methods.  Really, I think as instructors we assess constantly.

With regard to student peer assessment, I found the video/discussion with Ed Lester interesting.  Quite frankly, I never knew before now such a study on group interaction had been done.  Using the Myers-Briggs test to measure decisiveness as it related to the time in taking the test was an interesting approach, and even more interesting was the finding that perceived decisive students were rated higher by their peers, despite any evidence in actually contributing more to the group effort.

I think it will take some time to let this all “soak in” and figure out just how it might apply in my class, but the dynamic of group work has been very interesting to me.  I am intrigued about the “decisiveness” factor here, as some of this will relate to my own course since I am focusing on some leadership attributes as well….

Jim

About leadingcops

Greetings! I am a 20 year law enforcement veteran, with most of my time spent training peace officers. I started in patrol and have worked a range of assignments, including Internal Affairs and Risk Management before I took over as commander of our regional academy program. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist with during this class!
This entry was posted in Weekly Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jim’s Week 8 Reading

  1. tish21 says:

    Jim,
    You really up brought some good points about assessment and testing just to be testing. In a math course, the instructor has to be very careful not to fall into that trap and look for other ways students show how they can apply the concept and make a connection to a “real world scenario.”
    Tish

Leave a Reply

